“Power to Burn” 60 Minute Workout & Spinning Mix

July 17, 2007 at 4:52 am 6 comments

17-song music mix and choreographed workout includes
“Cannonball” by The Breeders
“Bonito” by Jarabe De Palo
“Luminol” by Ryan Adams

1. “Sleeping In” by The Postal Service (4:25): Warm-up and stretch.

2. “Cannonball” by The Breeders (3:35): Mix of spinning and out-of-seat climbing to stretch the legs.

3. “Soul Meets Body” by Death Cab for Cutie (3:55): In-seat climb w/ increasing tension every 30 secs. Bust the quads!

4. “Dead Disco” by Metric (3:25): Fast spin at race-pace effort.

5. “Little Thoughts” by Bloc Party (3:30): Quick out-of-seat climb. Think of charging up a hill or sprinting in deep sand. Pump those legs to bring the knees as high as possible.

6. “Bonito” by Jarabe De Palo (4:15): Slow, high-tension in-seat climb w/ increasing tension every 30 secs.

7. “You’re My Flame” by Zero 7 (3:15): Rolling hills at quick spin pace.

8. “Police and the Private” by Metric (3:45): More climbing. First half in-seat; second half out-of-seat. Hit it hard.

9. “Clocks” by Coldplay (5:05): Hard-charging spin. Race pace effort for a full five mins. Be mindful of maintaining good form. Don’t get sloppy just because you get tired. Land on your toes; push-off with your toes; drive your knees to your chest; try to kick your butt with your heel (to improve leg turnover); keep your knees slightly bent in; relax your shoulders; keep looking 10 yards ahead of you.

10. “Luminol” by Ryan Adams (3:25): Gotta’ dig deep when you’re tired! Another hard-charging, out-of-seat, quick climb.

11. “Bodyrock” by Moby (3:40): Fast spin at race-pace effort. This is where people start to drag. Keep-up the intensity and maintain proper form!

12. “Let Go” by Frou Frou (4:15): Butt-back exercise. Tone the butt! Strengthen your glutes and hamstrings!

13. “In the Shadows” by The Rasmus (4:15): Back to the hills. In-seat climb w/ two Power 10s and a Power 20.

14. “Sister Surround” by The Soundtrack (3:40): Mix of in-seat climbing and out-of-seat climbing w/ increasing intensity and a few Power 10s thrown-in for good measure.

15. “Mr. Brightside” by The Killers (3:45): Climbing and sprints. Finish on top w/ a hard-charging, all-out 60 sec burnout sprint at the end!

16. “We Will Become Silhouettes” by The Postal Service (5:00): Cool-down and stretch.

17. “Where Are You Going?” by Dave Matthews Band (4:00): Cool-down continued.

J.R. Atwood
Power 10 Spinning

https://spinningmixes.wordpress.com

Entry filed under: indoor cycling/spinning workouts and music mixes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

“Linus and Lucy” 60 Minute Workout & Spinning Mix “Tonight’s Concert” 60 Minute Workout & Spinning Mix

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jan  |  August 21, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    J.R.

    I love getting ideas from your site–they are very helpful for my class. However, since we all use different terminology, could you clarify some of your phrases, such as butt-back exercise? How is that done?

    Do you do any ab work in your class? I haven’t found any that I like and I think work.

    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 2. J.R. Atwood  |  September 29, 2007 at 1:37 am

    UPDATE: See new “FAQ” page — accessed at the top of my blog. Provides a breakdown/explanation of my workouts, including a description of a Power 10. :)

    Hi Jan,

    Sorry for not responding earlier… I have been meaning to provide an FAQ and “What does it mean?!” section to the blog, and to update it with some new mixes and workouts…

    For butt-back exercises, the purpose is to work on toning and strengthening the glutes… Put A LOT of tension on your bike. Rest on your forearms. Thrust your hips as far backwards as possible. Life you butt as high as you possibly can. The goal is to try and get your butt above your shoulders. You are landing on your toes. The key is to keep the butt back and up! More than anything else I do, this is the set where technique is most important. Without a focus on getting the butt back and up, it is a waste. But if you do this right, you should feel a sharp pain (in a good way) behind your kneecaps that climbs up your hamstrings to settle into your lower butt. Hold this position for the entire song. It is a slow exercise, a good chance to work on one’s breathing, and tone the booty. At the end, you won’t be tired, but you will be sore (again, in a good way). Hope this helps.

    As for ab work, I haven’t focused on many ab-specific exercises besides having people try to concentrate and pull their belly-buttons inwards and towards their back. Any suggestions you have would be much appreciated!

    Thanks, and keep an eye out soon for updates.

    Happy spinning!
    J.R.

    Reply
  • 3. carol  |  May 13, 2008 at 1:03 am

    do you follow schwinn philosophy striclty and if not
    what are you thougths on the schwinn philosophy vs. other indoor cycle methods?

    Reply
  • 4. J.R. Atwood  |  May 13, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Hi Carol,

    What, specifically, do you mean by referencing the “Schwinn philosophy?” I want to answer your question intelligently, and am curious what you see as the defining or unique attributes of various indoor cycling methods. Shoot me an email or leave a comment and I’ll get back to you ASAP!

    Happy spinning!
    J.R.

    Reply
  • 5. Christy  |  August 19, 2008 at 3:45 am

    J.R. –
    Since I use your site so often, I’m going to ask for a little more from you, kind of a “chicken or the egg?” question. Do you choose the music first, or do you decide the format of the class and find music to fit?

    Reply
  • 6. J.R. Atwood  |  August 19, 2008 at 4:59 am

    Hi Christy,

    Great question… Usually I’ll be out on a run listening to my iPod, or I hear something on the radio, and I start picturing what I’d do with that song in spin class… If the song is hard and fast, some sprints; if engaging and slow, maybe a grind and climb; if a dance or trance song, maybe some all-out spinning.

    I’ll make a mental list of the songs I like and then start to assemble them in a mix. Often, I find that I have too many of one kind of song — for example, maybe four long climbs and no sprints. If so, then I go on a hunt for something hard and fast. When I find a good mix of rock, dance/techno, and pop music to various beats and rhythms, I start to organize them. I’ll listen to the entire mix a few times, editing or rearranging songs to ensure a good overall flow to the workout, and make some notes about intended choreography.

    When I bring the mix to class, I try to balance my prep work with instinct for how the class feels and what it needs. My notes are just that — notes. I don’t ever restrict myself to the workout I planned in my head while sitting at my computer late into the previous evenings.

    I hope this helps, Christy! Let me know if you hae any other questions.

    Best,
    J. R.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Indoor cycling workouts and music mixes

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 560 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 1,212,697 hits

